Post Traumatic Growth

At my appointment earlier today, my therapist told me that he thinks I have something called post traumatic growth. He was reading about it lately and thought of me. It seems like the gist of it is that a person is able to grow after experiencing trauma. They become stronger, are more appreciative of their life, have deeper relationships, etc. I was really flattered that he thought that!

(Before I go on, keep in mind that I am not a psychologist, so nearly all the stuff I found here is from good old Google).

The people who coined the term define it as “positive change experienced as a result of the struggle with a major life crisis or a traumatic event.” People with PTG will still suffer, but they are able to thrive in some ways despite it. In fact, the can even have a higher quality of life than they did before they experienced trauma. This growth can occur in five areas:

  • They see new opportunities.
  • Their relationships change. They may get closer with specific people and become more empathetic.
  • They have an increased sense of their own strength.
  • They may have a greater appreciation for life.
  • They may experience spiritual growth.

I’d go into the ways I’ve grown post sexual-assault, but I feel like that’d be redundant since this this post already covers the main ways I’ve changed.

Thank you for reading this article. You can find my backstory here.

2 thoughts on “Post Traumatic Growth

Leave a Reply

