You are What You Think

“You are what you think. All that you are arises from your thoughts. With your thoughts you make your world.” -The Buddha

More and more I’m understanding that quote. Remember how I vowed to think about sexual assault only in a positive/constructive way? Well, it’s been working very well.
However, a few times I have slipped up when my thoughts wander as I fall asleep. The following day tends to have slightly more triggers than usual. I’m still working on breaking the habit of thinking negatively, but it’s sure exciting to see what a big change can come from something so small.

The second bit of news came as a result of talking with a friend last night. She was talking about recovering from addiction and taking it one day at a time. I really need to get better at doing the same. Sure, I’m not thinking “I’ll be happy when I’ve healed from this,” anymore, but I still find myself thinking about the future too much. I really shouldn’t put so much pressure on myself. The only thing I have control over is what I do in each moment.

I know I’m focusing on the ways I’ve slipped up in this post, but overall my mental health has improved tremendously in the past few weeks. I find myself thinking less and less about my past and when I do, it doesn’t bring my mood down much. I was about to type “I can’t wait to see how things will improve in the next few weeks,” but I’m supposed to be focusing on today… Looks like I have some more work to do in that department 😉 But hey, I still can’t complain. Life is good right now.

Thank you for reading this article. You can find my backstory here.

Leave a Reply

