Please Don’t Tell Me This is Normal

This is an article of mine that was originally posted in Feministing’s community blog.

If I trust you enough to tell my story,
Please don’t tell me this is normal.
Don’t remind me it happens every day,
In every city, in every state.

If I trust you enough to tell my story,
Please don’t tell me this is normal.
It won’t erase the pain,
Or make my memories fade.
It won’t make my triggers go away,
Or make me less afraid.

Please don’t imply that it’s not a big deal,
Because this body belongs to me.
Don’t forget that it’s always wrong,
To put hands where they don’t belong.
Don’t forget that it always hurts,
To be treated as less than dirt.

If I trust you enough to tell my story,
Please don’t tell me this is normal.
That’s the same as saying this is okay.

If I trust you enough to tell you my story,
Remind me that I’m not alone,
That people will support me wherever I go.
Walk beside me, listen, believe,
And one day there will be no more people like me.

Thank you for reading this article. You can find my backstory here.

Related articles:

Other poems I’ve written:

Leave a Reply

